#blogtour The Beekeeper by Stewart Giles @JoffeeBooks

51AQ0Q-zurL

Book description:

A shocking discovery starts a trail of mayhem on the Cornish coast.

Alice Green is a beekeeper in the small Cornish village of Polgarrow. She lives with her pet jackdaw in a beautiful cottage not far from the sea. One evening, Alice finds something strange under the hollyhock bush in her garden. The gruesome discovery will change everyone’s lives. And then Alice’s best friend Milly disappears . . .

Detective Harriet Taylor has just transferred to the area from Edinburgh. As she investigates a series of shocking crimes, she grows close to the old beekeeper and is determined to bring the criminals to justice. But who is really what they seem and who can she trust?

A crime mystery with a touch of black humour. You’ll enjoy this fast-paced and dark unearthing of the secrets of a sleepy Cornish village.

Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, LJ Ross, or TE Kinsey.

My Review:

The Beekeeper is an interesting mystery that is quite easy to read as it is fast flowing and there is always something happening or being discovered which makes the book difficult to put down.

I really liked the main character Alice, the Beekeeper, who is a fantastic character really kookie and entertaining.  I enjoyed reading about her exploits throughout the book and discovering more about her.  Her hobby of beekeeping was fascinating and I enjoyed learning more about what it involved.  I also liked Harriet Taylor who seemed quite a strong woman, despite her sad background.  It was lovely to see her grow in confidence throughout the book and settle into her new job. I especially liked her determination to do her job to the best of her abilities and that she fought to ensure she got the right results.

It was great to be able to follow an investigation from the start to its conclusion and be able to see the ins and outs of a police investigation.  The author includes descriptions of how the police get to their conclusions and how they conduct their investigations which was fascinating to read about.

The internal politics of a police station and how important or necessary each person is considered by others was very interesting.  The conversations between the police officers was very telling and could get quite personal at times leading to some funny moments.

There are some gory bits in the book, where the author goes into quite a lot of vivid detail about how a corpse looks.  If you are squeamish you might be better avoiding this book. Some of the descriptions made me feel quite sick at times.

I did unfortunately guess early on who the murderer was.  I read a lot of mysteries and thrillers and I think that was why I was able to guess rather than anything being wrong with the book.  Even though I had guessed I enjoyed reading the rest of the book while I waited to discover if I was right.

This is Stewart Giles’s debut novel and I would be interested in reading more of his books as I did enjoy most of the book its just a shame I worked it out.

Huge thank you to Joffe Books and Jill Burkinshaw for my copy of this book.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

More about the author:

61s8xOOTkiL._UX250_

After reading English & Drama at three different English Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling and finally ended up in South Africa, where I still live. I enjoy the serene life running a boat shop on the banks of the Vaal Dam. I came up with the DS Jason Smith idea after my wife dropped a rather large speaker on my head. Whether it was intentional still remains a mystery. Smith, the first in the series was finished in September 2013 and was closely followed by Boomerang and Ladybird. Occam’s Razor, Harlequin and Phobia (a series of short stories detailing Smith’s early life) were all completed in one hazy 365 days and Selene was done and dusted a few months later. Horsemen, the seventh in the DS Smith thriller series is out now. The Beekeeper, a departure from the DS Smith series will be released through Joffe Books on 22 May.

Follow the tour!

Blog Tour Banner - The Beekeeper

4 thoughts on “#blogtour The Beekeeper by Stewart Giles @JoffeeBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s