#Blogtour #guestreview: Buried On The Fens by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @Books_n_all

Autumn sunset.

 

Today I am sharing with you a review from Joyce’s Reviews on Goodreads. I have Joyce’s permission and blessing to share this with you. This review can also be accessed via https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2051623805?comment=168459907#comment_168459907.

Book Description:

A SKELETON IS UNEARTHED FROM A SHALLOW GRAVE IN THE CHURCHYARD. BUT THIS WAS NOT AN OFFICIAL BURIAL. THE VICTIM WAS MURDERED DECADES AGO.

At the same time, Detective Nikki Galena and her team are investigating the brutal slaying of local businesswoman Madeline Prospero. She was a member of an exclusive and secretive drinking club called The Briar Patch. But they’ve got no suspects and no one is telling them the truth.

Meanwhile, the buried skeleton leads them on a trail to the village of Quintin Eaudyke. This is a troubled place. In the late seventies and eighties a reign of terror and abuse was unleashed on the close-knit population.

When more women from the The Briar Patch come under threat, Nikki faces a race against time to stop the killing.
Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the heart-stopping ending.

THE DETECTIVE
DI Nikki Galena: A police detective with nothing left to lose, she’s seen a girl die in her arms and her own family destroyed. She’s tough on criminals but fiercely loyal to her team.

HER PARTNER
DS Joseph Easter is the squeaky-clean new member of the team. But his nickname “Holy Joe” belies his former life as a soldier. He has a daughter and an ex-wife who wants his attention.

THE SETTING
The Lincolnshire Fens: great open skies brood over marshes, farmland, and nature reserves. It is not easy terrain for the Fenland Constabulary to police, due to the distances between some of the remote Fen villages, the dangerous and often misty lanes, and the poor telephone coverage. There are still villages where the oldest residents have never set foot outside their own farmland and a visit to the nearest town is a major event. But it has a strange airy beauty to it, and above it all are the biggest skies you’ve ever seen.

DISCOVER YOUR NEXT FAVOURITE MYSTERY SERIES NOW

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

NIKKI GALENA SERIES
Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS
Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS
Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS
Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS
Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS
Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS
Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS

Joyce’s Review:

DI Nikki Galena and her team is busy working the case of Madeline Prospero when they get a call about a body in a graveyard at a local church. Assuming it was a fluke Nikki responds and discovers from the condition of the body that it is not a scheduled burial. Indeed, it is murder. The autopsy shows that he has been buried there for about thirty years. An ornate and engraved wedding band is the only clue to his identity. Meanwhile, they are getting nowhere on the Madeline Prospero case. It seems she was a member of a local club called The Briar Patch and was viciously beaten to death.  After taking the ring to a jeweler, Nikki learns more about its origins. This leads the team to the tiny village of Quintin Eaudyke. This is a village where hatred breeds secrets and no one is talking about the dead man, save for the old town doctor. It seems that over thirty years ago, the place was the scene of some horrific crimes against children. Everyone in town thought that the murdered man was guilty and later drowned in the river. His body was never found. But Nikki and her team know better.  Another woman who is related to the Briar Patch is brutally murdered and the problem is growing. What does someone have against the members of this club? With the assistance of Spooky, a brilliant computer technician and a friend of Nikki’s, they make some progress. As the investigation goes on Nikki and her team discover a link between the two cases. A suspect comes into view. The team feels more and more strongly that their suspect is the murderer. But the suspect is living under an assumed name and they can’t locate any pictures of them to do age progression to see what they look like now. They re-interview witnesses trying to find out what the murderer looks like now. They go hither and thither.  And then a breakthrough occurs. They zero in on the suspect. The tension mounts and the pace of the story speeds up. And it all ends with an exciting car chase on the fens.

This is an extremely well written and plotted novel. The tension starts immediately and builds throughout the story. I like the major characters and the team gets along well. I’ve read all of the Nikki Galena novels and I like this one the best. Ms. Ellis has out done herself! I can’t wait for the next book in this series.  I want to thank NetGalley and Joffe Books for forwarding to me a copy of this great book for me to read.

About The Author:

Joy Ellis photo 2

Joy Ellis grew up in Kent but moved to London when she won an apprenticeship with the prestigious Mayfair flower shop, Constance Spry Ltd. 

Many years later, having run her own florist shop in Weybridge, Ellis took part in a writer’s workshop in Greece and was encouraged by her tutor, Sue Townsend to begin writing seriously. She now lives in the Lincolnshire Fens with her partner Jacqueline and their Springer spaniels, Woody and Alfie.

Follow The Blog Tour:

If you liked this review do go and check out the other blogger’s reviews on this tour!

Blog Tour Banner

 

Advertisements

One thought on “#Blogtour #guestreview: Buried On The Fens by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @Books_n_all

  1. I think I’d really enjoy this series and have had it on my radar for some time. Guess I have some catching up to do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s