The Child by Fiona Barton @figbarton @BeckyShort1 @TransworldBooks

51BM-4SK0wL._AC_SX118_SY170_

Book Description:

When a paragraph in an evening newspaper reveals a decades-old tragedy, most readers barely give it a glance. But for three strangers it’s impossible to ignore.

For one woman, it’s a reminder of the worst thing that ever happened to her.

For another, it reveals the dangerous possibility that her darkest secret is about to be discovered.

And for the third, a journalist, it’s the first clue in a hunt to uncover the truth.

The Child’s story will be told.

My Review:

This book is so good! It’s definitely one of the most clever and compelling books I have read this year.

What struck me most about this book was that the author gives the reader plenty of time to get to know the main characters i.  Through out the book you discover a lot about their past and what makes them tick.  This helped me be a lot more engaged with the characters and therefore more interested in their story.

The story is told from the point of view of three character; Kate a journalist investigating the case, Angela a bereaved mother whose child was snatched from a maternity ward and Emma a shy, slightly odd woman who is deeply affected by the story of the child’s body being discovered.  My favourite character was Kate.  Regular readers of my blog will know that I really like strong female characters and Kate is definitely that.  I thought it was great that she was an older lady as strong female characters are normally younger women, just starting out.  I loved how she was trying to reinvent herself to stay on top and that she wasn’t prepared to go quietly and let the youngsters win.  I also had a lot of sympathy for Angela.  As someone who has also lost a child, albeit in different circumstances, I understood her behavior and her actions.  At times her grief was almost tangible which was very poignant to read about.

The writing flows well and really draws the reader in.  I was soon emersed in the story, almost without me being fully aware of it or realising why I found the story so addictive.  The events in the book all seemed very natural and not forced at all.  There are no weird coincidences or connections between the events it was very life like which is perhaps why it’s so intriguing as you feel like this could happen.

The twist towards the end really took me by surprise.  I thought I had figured it all out but it turns out I was very wrong.  I love it when this happens, as I read quite a lot I normally do guess so its always nice when I can’t!

This is the second book by Fiona Barton I have read as I have previously read her début The Widow and it definitely won’t be my last.  I actually thought The Child was better than The Widow which I hadn’t thought possible, so I really look forward to her next book!

Thank you Becky Short and Transworld publishers for my copy of this book, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

Rating: 5/5 stars

About the author: 

th (3)

My career has taken some surprising twists and turns over the years. I have been a journalist – senior writer at the Daily Mail, news editor at the Daily Telegraph, and chief reporter at The Mail on Sunday, where I won Reporter of the Year at the National Press Awards, gave up my job to volunteer in Sri Lanka and since 2008, have trained and worked with exiled and threatened journalists all over the world.

But through it all, a story was cooking in my head.

The worm of my first book infected me long ago when, as a national newspaper journalist covering notorious crimes and trials, I found myself wondering what the wives of those accused really knew – or allowed themselves to know.

It took the liberation of my career change to turn that fascination into a tale of a missing child, narrated by the wife of the man suspected of the crime, the detective leading the hunt, the journalist covering the case and the mother of the victim.

Much to my astonishment and delight, The Widow was published in 36 countries and made the Sunday Times and New York Times Best Seller lists.

It gave me the confidence to write a second book ,The Child, in which I return to another story that had intrigued me as a journalist. It begins with the discovery of a newborn’s skeleton on a building site. It only makes a paragraph in an evening newspaper but for three women it’s impossible to ignore.

The Child will be published in June 2017 and I am embarking on my next novel. My husband and I are still living the good life in south-west France, where I am writing in bed, early in the morning when the only distraction is our cockerel, Titch, crowing.

 

6 thoughts on “The Child by Fiona Barton @figbarton @BeckyShort1 @TransworldBooks

Leave a Reply

