#blogtour: After I’ve Gone by Linda Green @LindaGreenisms @QuercusFiction @Hannah_Robbo

9781786483034

 

I’m delighted to be on the blog tour for the fantastic After I’ve Gone by Linda Green.  Thank you to Hannah Robinson Cowie and Quercus Fiction for the chance to be on the tour.

After I’ve Gone is out now and currently only 99p on kindle.

Book Description:

YOU HAVE 18 MONTHS LEFT TO LIVE . . . On a wet Monday in January, Jess Mount checks Facebook and discovers her timeline appears to have skipped forward 18 months, to a day when shocked family and friends are posting heartbreaking tributes to her following her death in an accident. Jess is left scared and confused: is she the target of a cruel online prank or is this a terrifying glimpse of her true fate?
Amongst the posts are photos of a gorgeous son she has not yet conceived. But when new posts suggest her death was deliberate, Jess realises that if she changes the future to save her own life, the baby boy she has fallen in love with may never exist.

My review:

I really enjoyed this book, it will definitely be on my list as one of the best books I have read this year.  I was drawn into the story straight away and found it very hard to put down.  The author has a great style that just flows beautifully which makes it very easy to read.

I absolutely loved the main character Jess.  She is feisty, independent and just seems to really enjoy life.  I liked that she seemed really human and that she had flaws which did cause her some problems in her day to day life.  It was quite poignant to read about her past problems and to see her struggle with her choices for the future.  At times these struggles were almost tangible and you really felt for her with the decisions she had to make.

The story was quite realistic, especially as it involved the use of social media which we all know the dangers of and are aware of what some people might be capable of on it.  The inclusion of Facebook status’s, complete with profile pictures, helped to bring the story to life and seem more realistic.

This isn’t a fast paced, twisty thriller it’s a lot more subtle than that.  The author reveals the clues slowly giving the reader plenty of time to get to know the characters.  You get a feeling early on that something is not quite right and this general feeling of unease builds up to a brilliant, climatic ending!

I did guess fairly early on who had killed Jess but I think this was actually the authors intention and if anything actually added to my enjoyment of the book as I willed Jess to figure it out and have the happy ending I felt she deserved.

I think this book would be perfect for fans of The Girl Before and One Little Mistake as I felt the styles were similar, though it would suit anyone who loves just a great book with a fabulous story line!

This is the first book by Linda Green but it definitely won’t be the last and I will look forward to reading more from her in the future!

About The Author:

th (4)

I was born in North London in 1970 and brought up in Hertfordshire. I wrote my first novella, the Time Machine, aged eight, but unfortunately the pony-based time travel thriller genre never caught on. Shortly after which I declared in my school memory book that my ambition was to have a novel published (I could have been easy on myself and just said ‘to write a novel’ but no, I had to consign myself to years of torture and rejections). I was frequently asked to copy out my stories for the classroom wall (probably because my handwriting was so awful no one could read my first draft), and received lots of encouragement from my teachers Mr Roberts, Mrs Chandler (who added yet more pressure by writing in my autograph book when I left primary school that she looked forward to reading my first published novel!) and Mr Bird (who taught most of Spandau Ballet English).

My first publication came when I was thirteen and my Ode to Gary Mabbutt won second prize in the Tottenham Weekly Herald ‘My Favourite Player’ competition. At fifteen I won the Junior Spurs Football Reporter of the Year Competition and got to report on a first division football match from the press box at White Hart Lane (I got lots of funny looks and none of the male journalists spoke to me.)

At sixteen I embarked on ‘A’ levels and a journalism course at De Havilland College, Hertfordshire, and my college magazine interview about football hooliganism with local MP and football club chairman David Evans made a double page spread in Shoot! magazine (he denied everything he said and they never paid me) and back page headlines in several national newspapers (only a nice man at the Daily Star bothered to check the story with me).

I joined my local newspaper, the Enfield Gazette, as a trainee reporter at eighteen. During a ten year career in regional journalism I worked as a reporter on the Birmingham Daily News, news editor on the Birmingham Metro News and Chief Feature Writer on the Coventry Evening Telegraph, winning Highly Commended in the Feature Writer of the Year category of the 1997 Press Gazette Regional Press Awards.

I loved working on regional newspapers but by 1998 my features were getting too long and the urge to write a novel had become too great so I left my staff job to write my first novel and work as a freelance journalist. I have written for The Guardian, The Independent on Sunday, The Times Educational Supplement, The Big Issue, Wanderlust and Community Care Magazine. I’ve also had a short story published in Best magazine

I found the writing and working from home a very solitary process so also worked as co-ordinator of the Birmingham Bureau of Children’s Express, a national charity which ran a learning through journalism programme (they’re now called Headliners) for young people and taught journalism to schoolchildren for the National Academy of Writing. After I moved north in 2001, I qualified as an adult education tutor and taught creative writing classes to students aged between 18 and 82 for the Workers Educational Association across Calderdale, West Yorkshire.

After more than a hundred rejections from agents for my first novel (and more rewrites than I care to remember) I finally got an agent but still couldn’t get a publisher. I started work on my second novel I DID A BAD THING in 2003, finished the first draft and gave birth to my son (almost on the same day) in 2004, rewrote the novel and got a new agent in 2005, obtained a two-book deal with Headline Review in 2006.

I Did a Bad Thing was published in paperback in 2007, made no 22 in the official fiction bestsellers list and has sold more than 80,000 copies. 10 Reasons Not to Fall in Love was published in paperback in 2009, reached no 16 in the official fiction bestseller charts and has sold more than 77,000 copies. Both novels were also long-listed for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year Award.

Following the success of my first two novels I got another two-book deal from Headline Review, with Things I Wish I’d Known was published in 20110, made the official UK top thirty fiction chart and has sold more than 40,000 copies. And Then It Happened was published in 2011 and made the official top forty fiction chart.

I then moved to my current publisher Quercus, who published The Mummyfesto in 2013. The idea of three mums setting up their own political party caught the media’s attention and I was interviewed on Radio Four’s Woman’s Hour. In 2014 my sixth novel The Marriage Mender was published. My new novel While My Eyes Were Closed is due out later this year.

I live in West Yorkshire (which is great, especially when it stops raining), have a really weird accent which means I can do Yorkshire, London and the Midlands in the same sentence without realizing it, am married to Ian, a sports photographer for a national newspaper, and have an 11-year-old son, Rohan, whose favourite authors are Roald Dahl, J.K. Rowling, Philip Pullman and Michael Morpurgo.

I enjoy travelling (though I haven’t been anywhere more exotic than Lyme Regis since I became a mum) and have trekked after wild orang-utans in Borneo, been to the edge of the Arctic Circle to see polar bears and as far south as Tierra del Fuego to photograph penguins (yes, I know it would have been easier and cheaper to go to Chester zoo!).

And here are a few of my favourite things:
Novel: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
Author: Margaret Atwood.
Music: Florence and the Machine, Adele, Blondie, Beth Orton, Gabrielle Aplin.
Films: The Shawshank Redemption, Dead Poets’ Society, Truly, Madly, Deeply.
TV: Newsnight, Question Time, W1A, Have I Got News for You.
Food: Red peppers, mangos, toasted pine nuts, pesto sauce, Green & Blacks Maya Gold chocolate, strawberries, houmous and oven-roasted tomatoes (not all eaten at the same time!).
Places in the world: Pokhara, Nepal; Tanjung Puting National Park, Borneo; Churchill, Canada; Homer, Alaska, Hebden Bridge, England.

And a few of my least favourite things.
If I was on Room 101 my selections would be:
Women in unsuitable footwear (eg: white stilettos for muddy canal towpaths)
Tights (the 15-denier American tan variety)
Thomas the Tank Engine stories (those engines are so mean and miserable)
Candyfloss (I don’t do pink and sweet)
The notice on pay and display machines which says ‘overpayments accepted’ (big of them!).

Follow The Blog Tour:

If you liked my review and want to find out more do follow the blog tour and see what these other fab bloggers think too!

After I've Gone Blog Tour

 

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “#blogtour: After I’ve Gone by Linda Green @LindaGreenisms @QuercusFiction @Hannah_Robbo

  1. Wow – amazing review! I haven’t yet heard about this author but it definitely sounds like a hard book to ever put down! I will definitely have to look into it!
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s