#Blogtour: Quieter Than Killing by Sarah Hilary @sarah_hilary @KatieVEBrown @Headlinepg

Product Details

I’m thrilled to be kicking off the blog tour today for Quieter Than Killing by Sarah Hilary.  This is the 4th book in the DI Rome series but can easily be read as a standalone which what I have done.  Quieter Than Killing is now out in paperback and e-book, the e-book it is currently only 99p.

Book Description:

It’s winter, the nights are dark and freezing, and a series of seemingly random assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out onto streets of London. When Marnie’s family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have only been committed by someone who knows her. Then a child goes missing, yet no-one has reported it. Suddenly, events seem connected, and it’s personal.

Someone out there is playing games. It is time for both Marnie and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing. Keeping quiet can be a means of survival, but the effects can be as terrible as killing.

My Review:

When you start reading a crime novel you don’t expect the book to be overly emotional, but half way through Quieter Than Killing I found myself crying over what was happening in the book.  I think this is down to Sarah Hilary making the reader care about her characters.  She invests a lot of time in making sure the reader understands them, knows about their background and what makes them tick.  Through doing this the reader feels like they know the characters quite intimately and therefore are more upset when events transpire against them.  I found this book particularly poignant as two of the characters were children who were going through quite a hard time.  It was very difficult to read about their experiences and stay emotionally detached, particularly as I was imagining them as my own children at times.  I desperately wanted them to have a happy ending and kept reading to try to find out what was going to happen to them next.

The character development in the book is very well done.  I think I changed my opinion a number of times on each one as the story developed.  This was great at providing an eye opener at times as to how judgmental we can all be about certain members of society.  I started off not liking DI Rome very much which is unusual for me as I am normally instantly a fan of strong female characters but she just seemed a little remote and cold to me at first, plus she annoyed me at times with how she was trying to solve the case which made her come across as being quite arrogant at times.  However I soon came to like her drive and her thoroughness when it came to solving a case.

The case is quite a murky one from the beginning that builds and builds to an almost unbearable crescendo as we learn of all the different characters involved, what their connection and motivation is.  At its peak my head did start to hurt a little as I struggled to stay on top of all the different suspects but then it all becomes clear before a major twist just afterwards sends the reader scrambling in yet another direction.  I thought this was brilliantly done and it definitely kept me on my toes as i thought i had finally figured it all out before the rug was pulled out from under me again with a new revelation- well played Sarah Hilary! There was never a dull moment in the book as there always seemed to be something happening somewhere which really kept my interest and made the book very hard to put down.  I found myself reading late into the night, even swapping to the kindle version so i could continue reading in the dark.  The story is almost impulsive at times as the reader struggles to try to work out what is happening and who could be behind everything.

This is the fourth book in the DI Rome series but it is the first book of Sarah Hilary’s that I have read but it won’t be my last as i really enjoyed her style of writing and the human slant she puts in her writing.

Huge thanks to Katie Brown and Headline for providing me with a copy of the book and for letting me be on the blog tour.

Author Information:

Sarah Hilary

Sarah Hilary has worked as a bookseller, and with the Royal Navy. Her debut, SOMEONE ELSE’S SKIN, won Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year 2015 and was a World Book Night selection for 2016. The Observer’s Book of the Month (“superbly disturbing”) and a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, it has been published worldwide. NO OTHER DARKNESS, the second in the series was shortlisted for a Barry Award in the US. Her DI Marnie Rome series continues with TASTES LIKE FEAR (2016) QUIETER THAN KILLING (2017), with COME AND FIND ME out in April 2018.

Follow Sarah on Twitter at @Sarah_Hilary

 

 

Follow The Blog Tour:

If you liked the sound of Quieter Than Killing from my review, do follow the blog tour and see what these other fabulous bloggers are saying!

BlogTour_1

Leave a Reply

