#BlogTour: Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir @lilja1972 @Orendabooks @annecater

thumbnail_SNARE new front cover

I’m very excited to be on the blog tour for Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir.  Snare is now available to buy in e-book or paperback Here or from all good book stores!

Book Synopsis:

After a messy divorce, attractive young mother Sonia is struggling to provide for herself and keep custody of her son. With her back to the wall, she resorts to smuggling cocaine into Iceland, and finds herself caught up in a ruthless criminal world. As she desperately looks for a way out of trouble, she must pit her wits against her nemesis, Bragi, a customs officer, whose years of experience frustrate her new and evermore daring strategies. Things become even more complicated when Sonia embarks on a relationship with a woman, Agla. Once a high-level bank executive, Agla is currently being prosecuted in the aftermath the Icelandic financial crash. Set in a Reykjavik still covered in the dust of the Eyjafjallajokull volcanic eruption, and with a dark, fast-paced and chilling plot and intriguing characters, Snare is an outstandingly original and sexy Nordic crime thriller, from one of the most exciting new names in crime fiction.

My Review:

Snare is definitely a book that will stay with me for a long time mainly because of its hard-hitting and sometimes harrowing, main story line about drug smuggling.  It’s a subject we hear a lot about int he news and I’ve often wondered how and why people resort to drug smuggling in the first place, especially with all the risks involved.  In Snare, the author offers up one explanation in a gripping and unflinching narrative that really had me breathless at times as I wondered what on earth would happen next.  Some of the passages describing the drug smuggling are quite harrowing and horrifying.  I’d like to think such things don’t happen in real life, but sadly i don’t think this is the case, except maybe the tiger?! (I hope).  The fear and desperation some of the characters feel throughout the book is almost palpable a times and you really feel for them in those situations as well as disbelief that people can be so unfeeling and cruel.

I really like Sonja.  I thought she seemed a very in control, clever and resourceful woman who had some ingenious methods for getting drugs into Iceland.  These were quite thrilling to read about as you were never quite sure if she’d get caught or not and I did find myself holding my breath at times as events unfolded.  I fond that I had a lot of sympathy wither her and the situation that she finds herself in, not just in the drug smuggling but the tense home situation with her ex husband.  I felt indignant on her behalf for all the upset she was suffering and warmed to her throughout the book hoping she’d find a way out of the mess.  Her relationship with her son Thomas was really beautiful to read about and helped provided some light relief in a tense book.  The passages describing their time together and their obvious love for one another bought a tear to my eye and I had a smile on my face as I read about their exploits.  It was very poignant to read about the restraints on their relationship and my heart ached for the pair of them, imagining what they must be feeling.

The author mentions some interesting information about Icelandic traditions and food which was fascinating to read about.  I was particularly intrigued by snowflake bread and wish to try it for myself.

Snare is the first book in the Reykjavik Noir series and I very much look forward to reading more from her.  I’m hoping that the same characters are involved as I would like to find out what happens next for Sonja.

Huge thanks to Orenda Books and Anne Cater for my copy of this book and for inviting me on the blog tour.

About the author:

thumbnail_Lilja author photo

Icelandic crime-writer Lilja Sigurdardóttir was born in the town of Akranes in 1972 and raised in Mexico, Sweden, Spain and Iceland. An award-winning playwright, Lilja has written four crime novels, with Snare, the first in a new series, hitting bestseller lists worldwide. The film rights have been bought by Palomar Pictures in California. Lilja has a background in education and has worked in evaluation and quality control for preschools in recent years. She lives in Reykjavík with her partner.

thumbnail_snare blog poster 2017

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour: Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir @lilja1972 @Orendabooks @annecater

Leave a Reply

