#BlogTour: Hope On The Waterways by Milly Adams @milly_author @arrowpublishing @SarahHarwood_ #HopeOnTheWaterways #WW2Saga #HisFic

IMG_20180923_201703

Book Synopsis:

When all seems lost, they find strength in each other.

THE THIRD NOVEL IN THE UPLIFTING WATERWAY GIRLS SERIES. Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell.

January 1945, West London: Sylvia Simpson is flourishing in her role aboard the Marigold and has quickly become an invaluable member of the crew. But as the V-I and V-2 rockets draw closer, someone from her past is about to burst into their lives. Now Sylvia must choose between keeping the promises she has made, and remaining loyal to the people she loves the most.

Polly and Verity are still waiting for their sweethearts’ safe return, and soon find they have their own battles to fight on the home front. It will take all their resolve to keep their heads above water, but as long as they stick together there will always be hope.

Hope On The Waterways is available in ebook and paperback now.  Purchase your copy of both here.

My Review:

I’m a huge fan of this series so I was very excited to be asked to be on the blog tour for Hope On The Waterways the third book in this fabulous series.

This book starts straight after the last one ended and unlike some other books there isn’t a huge recap about the story so far.  Instead the story starts straight away with the reader thrown straight into the action and the reality of war.  The opening chapters are very dramatic with lots of action and drama which made it immediately very difficult to put down.  The war and all its horrors are finally impacting on the girls and the starkness of life along the waterway is brought vividly to life.  I could really imagine every bomb blast and picture the complete carnage afterwards.  My heart was in my mouth reading these scenes as I hoped that everything would be ok for the three main characters.

As always with The Waterway Girls series the thing that makes the books is the wonderful relationships that the three girls enjoy with each other.  I love reading about their exploits and the banter that they share during their time on the cut.  I found myself wishing at times that I was one of them, working alongside them.

Sylvia takes on more of a central role in this book and it was great to find out more about her.  I must admit to really not liking her when she first joined the girls in the last book but I have found myself gradually warming to her as the series have gone on.  It was lovely to see her relax and become a member of the team.

The wonderful descriptions of life on the Waterway are brilliant as always.  I didn’t know much about the war work that was carried out on the Waterways before starting this series and I have enjoyed learning more about what life was like working on the Waterways during the war.  The lovely sense of community that the author describes is brilliant to read about and, again, makes you wish you were there with the boaters and part of the close community.

The ending had me in tears not just because of the heartwarming way the book ends but also because of the realisation that this is probably the last Waterway Girls book.  I am very sorry to have to say goodbye to the wonderful characters and world of the boaters.  This is definitely a series I will be keeping on my keep forever shelf to re-read at some point in the near future.

Huge thanks to Sarah Harwood for inviting me onto the blog tour and for sending me a copy of this book.  If you like world war two stories about strong, close groups of women then you’ll love this book!

About The Author:

IMG_20180923_202848

 

 

 

 

Milly Adams lives in Buckinghamshire with her husband, dog and cat. Her children live nearby. Her grandchildren are fun, and lead her astray. She insists that it is that way round.
Milly Adams is also the author of Above Us The Sky and Sisters At War.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s