#BlogTour: Tainted by David Evans @DavidEwriter @OrchardViewBook @CarolineBookBit #Tainted #WakefieldSeries

Book Synopsis:

A botched attempt to extort money has tragic consequences.
An embarrassing DNA match to an unsolved rape and murder twenty years before means DI Colin Strong has to use his best diplomatic tactics.
Simultaneously, journalist Bob Souter is tasked with writing about that same case to re-focus public attention. Will the newspaper’s actions help or hinder the police?
Meanwhile, Strong’s team has two separate murder enquiries to run.
With their friendship under duress, will Souter and Strong be able to work together?

Tainted is available in ebook and paperback now. You can purchase a copy of both using the link below.

My Review:

Tainted was a compelling crime novel which had a bit of a classic detective story feel to it.

The story follows two cases one in the present day and a cold case that gets reopened when a current police officer’s DNA is linked to the case. These two cases give the reader plenty of intriguing things to keep them gripped to the story. There are car chases, affairs and kidnapping that also makes the story a very interesting one.

The two main characters DCI Strong and Bob Souter ( a reporter) are highly likeable and believable characters that I felt I could get behind. Despite their career choices these two have built up a good friendship based on trust and respect which was lovely to read about. In these types of books the police and journalist are normally pitted against each other so it was good to see it being portrayed differently here.

This is quite a fast paced book with lots of action to keep the reader interested. There is quite a lot of emphasis on how police solve a mystery which I found fascinating to read about, particularly how one small detail can lead to a break through. I thought the tense ending was particularly well done and the reveal was quite surprising which I always like.

This is the fourth book in the Wakefield series and whilst this could be read as a standalone it would probably be beneficial to read the books in order as I think you would understand the characters a bit better.

Huge thanks to Caroline Vincent for inviting me onto the blog tour and for my ebook copy of this book which I received in exchange for an honest review.

About The Author:

Delighted to have The Wakefield Series re-published in paperback and ebook formats. The crime fiction series set primarily in Yorkshire, consists of TROPHIES, TORMENT, which was shortlisted in the prestigious Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger in 2013, and TALISMAN. Also planned for release in February 2019 is TAINTED, the fourth Wakefield novel.
Previously, The Wakefield Series became an International Best Seller in June 2017.
Also available is DISPOSAL, the first of The Tendring Series, a new crime series set in north Essex in the late 1970s.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s