#BlogTour: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides @AlexMichaelides @PoppyStimpson @orionbooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n #TheSilentPatient #FabRead #5Stars #Recommended

Book Synopsis:

ALICIA
Alicia Berenson writes a diary as a release, an outlet – and to prove to her beloved husband that everything is fine. She can’t bear the thought of worrying Gabriel, or causing him pain.

Until, late one evening, Alicia shoots Gabriel five times and then never speaks another word.

THEO
Forensic psychotherapist Theo Faber is convinced he can successfully treat Alicia, where all others have failed. Obsessed with investigating her crime, his discoveries suggest Alicia’s silence goes far deeper than he first thought.

And if she speaks, would he want to hear the truth?

THE SILENT PATIENT is the gripping must-read debut thriller of 2019 – perfect for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A.J. Finn and THE GIRL BEFORE by JP Delaney.

The Silent Patient is available in all formats now. You can purchase your copy using the link below.



My Review:

I’m always a little nervous when I read a book that’s had so much hype about it as I wonder if I’m going to be the exception to the rule. However I’m pleased to report that The Silent Patient is every bit as brilliant as reported.

The Silent Patient is an incredibly clever, unsettling and gripping thriller that was a very addictive read. It does start off a bit slowly but soon the story becomes very interesting as we find out more about the characters. This gradually increases as the book goes on and helps make the book almost impossible to put down as little snippets about them are discovered.

The story is told mainly from the point of view of Forensic psychotherapist Theo who has been interested by Alicia’s story from the moment he heard about it. He even changes his job to work at the facility where she is being treated and manages to quickly make her his patient. Through flashbacks we learn more about his life both past and present and how it could still be effecting him today. Theo’s story is broken at intervals by extracts from Alicia’s diary detailing what she was doing and thinking in the days leading up to the murder. These two combined helps make for very interesting reading and helps to gradually increase the tension as we discover more unsettling parts of the whole story.

The author’s background of psychotherapy is evident throughout the book and Theo’s narration often includes information about the theory behind what he is doing. I found this fascinating and thought that it really added to the story as it helps give the reader more details about what is happening. This is never over explained and I liked that the author doesn’t doubt the readers intelligence by doing so.

This is the author’s debut novel and I’m very excited to read more from him. If you like gripping, unsettling reads then you’ll love this book.

Huge thanks to Tracy Fenton for inviting me onto the blog tour and to Poppy from Orion for my copy of this book which I received in exchange for an honest review.

About The Author:

Alex Michaelides was born in Cyprus in 1977. He wrote the film The Devil You Know starring Rosamund Pike, and co-wrote The Brits are Coming. The Silent Patient is first novel, and was inspired by a post graduate course in psychotherapy, and working part-time at a secure psychiatric unit.

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogTour: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides @AlexMichaelides @PoppyStimpson @orionbooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n #TheSilentPatient #FabRead #5Stars #Recommended

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s