#BlogTour: The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl @KathMcGurl @HQDigitalUK @rararesources #TheForgottenSecret

Book Synopsis:

Can she unlock the mysteries of the past?

A country at war

It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long, Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty.
 
A long-buried secret

A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades.
 
For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.

The Forgotten Secret is available in ebook now for the fantastic price of £2.99. You can purchase your copy using the link below.

My Review:

The Forgotten Secret is the first book I’ve read by this author, although I have heard lots of great things! So I was excited to be invited onto the blog tour for this, her latest book.

Firstly the author has clearly done her research into what was a turbulent time in Irish history as the period is vividly described so the reader feels like they are actually there experiencing everything alongside the characters. I’m ashamed to say I didn’t know much about The Irish War of Independence before reading this book so I was truly fascinated to learn more about it.

The dual timeline mystery was very well done and I enjoyed watching it all unfold. I did prefer Ellen’s story due to the historical detail but I found myself intrigued by Charlotte’s story too and trying to guess how the two stories would merge together. I liked that there weren’t any huge jumps or coincidences in how the two fit together which helped to make the story seem quite realistic.

The last part of the book is quite emotional, as you might expect due to its subject matter, and I found myself totally caught up in the story. By this time I felt that I had really got to know the characters well and I’d gone on a huge journey with them so the ending had a huge impact on me. I rarely cry in books but found myself sobbing as the end played out which I always think shows a lot of skill from the author that they’ve made you feel this way.

Huge thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random resources for inviting me onto the blog tour and to HQ Digital for my copy of this book via Netgalley. If you like absorbing, emotional dual timeline stories then you’ll love this book!

About The Author:

Kathleen McGurl lives near the sea in Bournemouth, UK, with her husband and elderly tabby cat. She has two sons who are now grown-up and have left home. She began her writing career creating short stories, and sold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she got side-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writing novels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, and the ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploring these links in her novels.
When not writing or working at her full-time job in IT, she likes to go out running. She also adores mountains and is never happier than when striding across the Lake District fells, following a route from a Wainwright guidebook.
You can find out more at her website: http://kathleenmcgurl.com/, or follow her on Twitter: @KathMcGurl.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s