#BlogTour: Base Cowboys by Mark Farrier @mark_farrer @damppebbles #BaseCowboys #damppebbletours

Book Synopsis:

The very first Cullen trilogy featuring three hilarious novellas:

DIRTY BARRY – The first casualty of adultery is … the tooth!

Barry Sullivan is a sordid dentist who resorts to blackmail to keep his string of married women compliant. 
But now Cullen has toothache – and a very different interpretation of the dental code of practice.

BRONCHIAL BILLY – Meet Billy… the fastest gun in a vest.

Billy is a geriatric slum landlord desperate to win first prize in a Country & Western gunfighting competition. But his trigger-happy birthday celebrations unwisely provoke Cullen, and now Billy must pay. Will he meet his High Noon at the Grand Ole Opry or will he go out with a bang? Whatever happens, there’s sure to be fireworks.

PALE ALE RIDER – There’s trouble brewing…

Tyler is a teenage tearaway with the eyes of a serial killer. But when he decides to rob Big Paul’s local, The Lamb & Flag, he gets more than he bargained for. 
Will Tyler lose his bottle and hop it, or end up getting smashed? Because Cullen thinks he’s seen dead eyes like those somewhere before, and now he has a plan: he’s not bitter, he’s just a little twisted.

Base Cowboys is available in ebook and paperback now. You can purchase your copy of both using the link below.

My Review:

Base Cowboys is a hilarious book full of some very memorable characters! It’s actually three novellas in one book which work well together as they are all based the same fascinating world the author has created.

The thing that most stands out about this book is how utterly hilarious it is and I often found myself laughing out loud at some of the great scenes that the author describes. There are lots of great puns included too which helps add to the funny moments.

The author really knows how to create some memorable characters and there were a huge variety in this book. The villans were characters that I loved to hate and it was interesting to see what evil schemes they came up with. I was sorry not to see more of Cullen as I enjoyed reading about him in the author’s previous book. He only seemed to turn up to help make things right again in this one which was a shame.

Overall I thought this was an enjoyable and amusing read that I’d definitely recommend. I felt quite sad the stories ended and hope to read more from this author soon.

Huge thanks to Emma from Damp pebble tours for inviting me onto the blog tour and for my copy of this book.

About The Author:

Mark worked in IT for 30 years… but he’s much better now.

His books are multi-stranded storylines involving larger-than-life characters, whose plans and incompetence inevitably exceed their wits. Each involves an itinerant loner called Cullen who lives off the grid in the Scottish Borders and gets accidentally drawn into someone’s schemes, only for his own (very personal) sense of right and wrong to be offended. That’s generally when things start to go wronger.

His first book, Where Seagulls Dare, involves the machinations of a Russian oligarch to take over the Scottish salmon-farming industry, an ardent US eco-protestor with his own agenda, and a blonde bombshell from Hollywood looking to recharge her career via a stint in Glasgow panto. 

The second, A Fistful of Collars, brings together the Church of Scotland, the fashion industry, a textile mill in the Scottish Borders, a professional soccer player with addiction issues, and an IT worker who sees a future as a famous hitman.

The third, The Good The Bad & The Rugby, has Cullen on jury service in the run-up to the Melrose Sevens Rugby tournament. A dead body, a UFO-spotter, a stolen Rugby trophy and a mangy ex-con are all connected and only Cullen can pull all the strands together and ensure justice is done.

Mark has also written three novellas: Dirty Barry (available FREE) which tells the story of how Cullen and Big Paul first met; Bronchial Billy, which tells of a slum landlord whose wild-west birthday celebrations unwisely provoke Cullen; and Pale Ale Rider, about a teenage thief who unknowingly targets Big Paul’s local pub.

You can find out more about Mark at his website markfarrer.com.

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour: Base Cowboys by Mark Farrier @mark_farrer @damppebbles #BaseCowboys #damppebbletours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s