#BlogTour: The Lake Child by Isabella Ashdown @IsabelAshdown @TrapezeBooks @orionbooks @Tr4cyF3nt0n #TheLakeChild

Book Synopsis:


You trust your family. They love you. Don’t they?

When 17-year-old Eva Olsen awakes after a horrific accident that has left her bedbound, her parents are right by her side. Devoted, they watch over her night and day in the attic room of their family home in the forests of Norway.

But the accident has left Eva without her most recent memories, and not everything is as it seems. As secrets from the night of the accident begin to surface, Eva realises – she has to escape her parents’ house and discover the truth. But what if someone doesn’t want her to find it?

An edge-of-your-seat, atmospheric psychological thriller for fans of Lucy Clarke and Erin Kelly.

The Lake Child is available in ebook and paperback now. You can purchase your copy using the link below.

My Review:

This was a heartbreaking, shocking and gripping read from this talented author! This is a difficult book to review as I don’t want to give too much away.

The main character Eva is a very sympathetic one who I couldn’t help but feel sorry for. Her confusion is almost palpable at times and it was heartbreaking to watch her try to piece everything together. Her memory loss makes her an unreliable narrator which made for very interesting reading as I tried to work out what was real and what wasn’t.

The story does start of slow which I thought was cleverly done by the author as it reflected the confusion that Eva feels. It soon picks up though when the different threads of the story start pulling together and the many twists kept me guessing until the end. The ending really shocked me and I felt pulled the story together nicely.

Huge thanks to Tracy Fenton for inviting me onto the blog tour and to Trapeze for my copy of this book via Netgalley.

About The Author:

Isabel Ashdown was born in London and grew up on the south coast of England. The opening of her debut won the Mail on Sunday Novel Competition, going on to be published as Glasshopper and being named as one of the best books of the year. Today, she writes full-time, walks daily, and volunteers in a local school for the charity Pets as Therapy. Isabel lives in Sussex with her carpenter husband, their two children and dogs Charlie and Leonard. Follow Isabel on Twitter @IsabelAshdown

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s