#BlogTour: The Paris Girl by Meg Evans @natmegevans @bookouture @nholten40 #TheParisGirl #bookouturebooksontour #hisfic

Book Synopsis:

Paris, 1920s. Tatiana Vytenis has worked hard to leave her past behind. Once a ruined Russian princess in hiding, she is now a sought-after model and engaged to Gérard de Sainte-Vierge – a handsome, if occasionally overbearing, aristocrat. With the Sainte-Vierge heirloom ruby sparkling on her finger, Tatiana feels as though she should be happy. Not long ago she was penniless and now she’s about to become a marquise.

But fate still has a final hand to play. One night in a bohemian café in Montparnasse, Tatiana discovers she’s been the unknowing plaything of the Sainte-Vierge family. Hidden beneath their genteel exteriors, Gerard and his brother have a secret darker side, and her darling fiancé will gladly ruin Tatiana’s life to save his own reputation.

As Tatiana’s situation becomes ever more desperate, she crosses paths with an unlikely guardian angel. Serious, dark-haired Regan Dortmeyer is an American in Paris – a war photographer running from his own hard knocks in Hell’s Kitchen, New York. He’s no fancy French nobleman, but Regan has seen the lengths to which a wicked man like Gerard will go. As the consequences of her disastrous engagement threaten to swallow Tatiana up, he might be the only one who can save her now…

From the USA Today bestselling author of TheMilliner’sSecretThe Paris Girl is a beautiful novel full of twists and turns, set against the breathtaking backdrop of 1920s Paris. Perfect for fans of Chanel Cleeton, Kathleen Tessaro and The Alice Network.

The Paris Girl is available in ebook and paperback now. You can purchase your copy using the link below.

My Review:

The Paris Girl is a gripping, intriguing piece of historical fiction which I thoroughly enjoyed reading.

Firstly I love the 1920s so I liked all the wonderful descriptions of life in Paris at that time. The author’s descriptions were beautifully vivid so that I felt that I was actually there experiencing the cafes and fashion houses alongside the characters. It was definitely an interesting time to be alive with the world still recovering from the loses of ww1 but entering an exciting era full of new possibilities, especially for women.

It took me a while to warm to the main character Tatiana as she came across as incredible spoilt lady who just wants everything given to her on a plate with little effort from herself. As we get to know more about her though we discover that there is a reason why she behaves like this and I did start to feel a grain of sympathy for her towards the end. Her job as a mannequin for a fashion house where she models the latest clothes was fascinating to read about as I never knew that that was a job before reading this book.

Overall I thought this was an intriguing read and I liked following the characters on their journey to discover the truth about what was going on. This was a sequel of sorts to the author’s previous book as there are some of the same characters, though the focus is on Tatiana this time which was interesting. It’s a bit of a slow burn but soon becomes a fast paced story of suspicion which was very exciting.

Huge thanks to Noelle from Bookouture for inviting me onto the blog tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley.

About The Author:

Natalie is a RITA nominated writer, a USA Today Bestseller and author of four novels: The Dress Thief, The Milliner’s Secret (soon to be re-titled “The Girl who Dreamed of Paris”) and The Wardrobe Mistress which comes out as an ebook in June 2017 and in paperback in Europe in August 2017.

In the late 1970s, Natalie Meg Evans ran away from art college in the Midlands for a career in London’s fringe theatre. She spent five years acting, as well as writing her own plays and sketches before giving it up to work in PR. She now writes full-time from her house in rural mid Suffolk.

Natalie has collected numerous awards for her writing including the UK’s Harry Bowling Prize (2012). The Dress Thief was nominated for a coveted RITA Award by Romance Writers of America and it won the Greek Public Book award for the best foreign novel; also, the UK’s Festival of Romance readers award (where readers rather than industry professionals select and judge) in the historical category. The Milliner’s Secret (Also known as “The Girl Who Dreamed of Paris”) was shortlisted for the same award.

Natalie was also nominated for the coveted Daphne du Maurier award and was named a finalist for a Romance Writers of America Golden Heart award.

Other books by Natalie are Summer in the Vineyards and The Wardrobe Mistress. Her books are also available as Spoken Word.

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour: The Paris Girl by Meg Evans @natmegevans @bookouture @nholten40 #TheParisGirl #bookouturebooksontour #hisfic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s