#BlogTour: The Roommates by Rachel Sargeant @RachelSargeant3 @HarperFiction @fictionpubteam #TheRoommates

Book Synopsis:

From the top ten Kindle bestseller. Perfect for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

THEY LIVE IN YOUR HOUSE
University is supposed to be the best time of your life. But Imo’s first week is quickly going from bad to worse.

YOU SHARE EVERYTHING
A stalker is watching her flat, following her every move, and Imo suspects that her new roommates are hiding dark secrets…

BUT DO YOU TRUST THEM?
When one of them suddenly disappears, the trauma of Imo’s recent past comes hurtling back to haunt her. And she begins to realise just how little she knows about the people she lives with…

‘Gripping, original and unpredictable’ Alex Lake

“Twisty and unnerving, Rachel is back with a thriller that will keep you up all night. Her best novel yet!’ Phoebe Morgan

‘From the very first page, the intrigue of this page-turning mystery builds until the gripping climax’ Caroline England

The Roommates is available in ebook now and in paperback on the 28th November 2019. You can purchase or pre-order your copy using the link below.

My Review:

I’m a huge fan of this author so I was very excited to be invited onto the blog tour for this book, especially as the invitation came from the author herself which is always nice. Once again the author has written a realistic, twisty thriller which was hard to put down.

The author perfectly captures the atmosphere of Freshers at university with the excitement of being somewhere new but the fear of not fitting in which reminded me of me of my own experience. The old college buildings added a slightly creepy edge to the story as there were lots of dark corners to hide in.

The four main characters were brilliantly evoked with all of them coming from very different backgrounds which gives plenty of reasons for disagreements between them. Each of the characters are holding back parts of themselves, as you’d expect in a new situation, which makes it hard for the reader to decide who to trust. I have to admit I didn’t really like any of the characters to start with but as I got to know them better and saw their interactions with each other I started to care about them. They really pull together when one of their group goes missing which was heartwarming to see.

There is plenty of intrigue to keep the readers interest with their quiet room mate Riku who doesn’t give much away about himself and the mysterious stranger who seems to be watching the characters just out of sight. Is he real or is he just a figment of their increasing paranoia? This as well as the characters interesting backstory combines to make a gripping read which I found hard to put down. I thoroughly review this enjoyable read to everyone!

Huge thanks to Rachel Sargeant for inviting me onto the blog tour and to Harper Collins for my copy of this book via Netgalley.

About The Author:

Rachel Sargeant is the author of Kindle Top Ten bestseller The Perfect Neighbours, a psychological thriller.
Her second novel with HarperCollins, The Good Teacher, is a detective mystery, featuring DC Pippa “Agatha” Adams.
Book number three will be The Roommates, a psychological thriller set in a university freshers’ week.
She is also the author of Gallipoli: Year of Love and Duty, a novel featuring Great War nurses on a hospital ship.
Rachel is a previous winner of Writing Magazine’s Crime Short Story competition and has been placed or shortlisted in various competitions, including the Bristol Short Story Prize. Her stories have appeared in My Weekly and the Accent Press Saucy Shorts series.
Rachel grew up in Lincolnshire, spent several years living in Germany and now lives in Gloucestershire with her family.
Find out more about her writing and reading on her website: http://www.rachelsargeant.co.uk or follow her on Twitter: @RachelSargeant3.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s