#BlogTour: The Forgotten Sister by Nicola Cornick @NicolaCornick @HQstories #TheForgottenSister #NicolaCornick

Book Synopsis:

One woman’s secret will shape another’s destiny…

1560: Amy Robsart is trapped in a loveless marriage to Robert Dudley, a member of the court of Queen Elizabeth I. Surrounded by enemies and with nowhere left to turn, Amy hatches a desperate scheme to escape – one with devastating consequences that will echo through the centuries…

Present Day: When Lizzie Kingdom is forced to withdraw from the public eye in a blaze of scandal, it seems her life is over. But she’s about to encounter a young man, Johnny Robsart, whose fate will interlace with hers in the most unexpected of ways. For Johnny is certain that Lizzie is linked to a terrible secret dating back to Tudor times. If Lizzie is brave enough to go in search of the truth, then what she discovers will change the course of their lives forever.

***

Moving between the Tudor era and the present day,The Forgotten Sister is a stunning historical novel that draws on one of history’s most compelling and enduring mysteries. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Barbara Erskine, Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.

The Forgotten Sister is available in paperback and ebook now. You can purchase your copy using the link below.

My Review:

There’s nothing I like better than a good dual timeline mystery and Nicola is one of my favourite authors for this genre.

In The Forgotten Sister the author has taken a real historical mystery and made an intriguing story out if it. I really enjoyed learning more about Amy Robsart and her horrible, callous husband Robert Dudley, particularly as I think there was more to Amy than history has given her credit for. The characters really seem to come to life with real character traits that they were known to have being included into the story. The fact that the modern characters seemed like the historical characters reincarnated was well done and made the story very interesting.

The amount of historical details in this book was brilliant and I enjoyed learning more about Elizabethan England. Amy and Robert were two characters that I hadn’t heard of before so it was especially interesting learning more about their lives and the legacy they left behind. As always it was the little everyday details which made the book for me as I always find it fascinating to see how different life was back then compared to now. I spent a few hours looking up Amy and Robert on the internet and learning more about her mysterious death.

I was engrossed in this story from the start and found the book very hard to put down. It isn’t immediately clear what the links between the two timelines are and I enjoyed trying to work out how they were connected. The supernatural element of the story was a nice touch and helped add an unusual element to the story as it was done in a very believable way.

Huge thanks to HQ for inviting me onto the blog tour and for my copy of this book via Netgalley.

About The Author:

Nicola Cornick is a historian and author who works as a volunteer researcher and guide for the National Trust in one of the most beautiful 17th century houses in England. She writes dual time novels that illustrate her love of history, mystery and the supernatural. Her books have appeared in over twenty five languages, sold over half a million copies worldwide and been described as “perfect for Outlander fans.” Nicola also works as a consultant for TV and radio.

Her new novel, ‘The Forgotten Sister’ is a re-telling of the Tudor love triangle between Queen Elizabeth I, Robert Dudley and Amy Robsart. It is out in April 2020 and is available for pre- order in paperback and e-book.

Nicola loves to chat to readers about history, reading and writing.
Join the conversation on Twitter @NicolaCornick,
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/nicola.cornick/
and Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nicolacornick/
You can find Nicola’s website at http://www.nicolacornick.com where you can sign up for her newsletter to be first in line for events, news and exclusive chapters.

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour: The Forgotten Sister by Nicola Cornick @NicolaCornick @HQstories #TheForgottenSister #NicolaCornick

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s