#BlogTour: The English Wife by Adrienne Chinn @adriennechinn @0neMoreChapter_ @rararesources #TheEnglishWife #AdrienneChinn

Book Synopsis:

Two women, a world apart.

A secret waiting to be discovered…

VE Day 1945: As victory bells ring out across the country, war bride Ellie Burgess’ happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her charismatic Newfoundlander husband Thomas is still missing in action.
 
Until a letter arrives explaining Thomas is back at home on the other side of the Atlantic recovering from his injuries.

Travelling to a distant country to live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing Ellie has ever had to do. But nothing can prepare her for the harsh realities of her new home…

September 11th 2001: Sophie Parry is on a plane to New York on the most tragic day in the city’s history. While the world watches the news in horror, Sophie’s flight is rerouted to a tiny town in Newfoundland and she is forced to seek refuge with her estranged aunt Ellie.
 
Determined to discover what it was that forced her family apart all those years ago, newfound secrets may change her life forever…
 
This is a timeless story of love, sacrifice and resilience perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Gill Paul.

The English Wife is available in ebook and paperback now. The ebook is currently only 99p. You can purchase your copy using the link below.

My Review:

The English wife is a beautifully written, captivating page turner from a new author for me.

This story drew me in straight away and I loved following the two characters on their journeys. Both characters face different problems on the way and it was very interested to see how they dealt with them. Unusually for me I actually found myself drawn more to Sophie’s story then the historical one which surprised me, I think this might be because the second story was slightly more unusual.

The wonderful descriptions of Newfoundland were incredibly vivid and I found myself falling in love with the place even though I’d never been there. The ruggedly beautiful landscape mixed with the amazing sense of community were fantastic to read about and made me want to visit there in the future. I especially liked the insight into the town’s traditions and some of the local language used there.

Overall I thought this was a fantastic read which I found hugely enjoyable. The different stories developed at a great pace and made the book hard to put down in places as there was always something going on. There were a few twists that took me by surprise and made me turn the pages faster as I wanted to see how it would be resolved. The story does dip in places but do keep reading as it soon picks up!

Huge thanks to Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me onto the blog tour and for my copy of this book.

About The Author:

Adrienne Chinn was born in an old paper-making town in Newfoundland, and grew up in rural Quebec and Montreal. She retraced her English father’s footsteps back to England, where she now lives and works as an interior designer.

When not writing or designing, she can normally be found in the queue at Gatwick heading off somewhere new: she travels all over the world, but most often to her beloved Morocco, which she has been visiting regularly for over ten years.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s